Evernote Revisits Privacy Policy Change in Response to Feedback

Hello!

First time posting here...

I've been using Evernote for more than 3 years now, I've became a paying customer after a promotion from Dell, been using and paying the Premium subscription since then.

This change in policy, how it was worded in the new EULA is too vague and concerning, for those of us who store personal information on Evernote, even more for those who store corporate information.

We pay for your services, mainly because the product is awesome, but also because we don't want to be the product. When you use a "free" software to store, share or analyze information you're in turn sharing the data with the developer so they can profit on it, using Gmail or Facebook, we all know that, free in this case just means you are giving something in return that is not money.

Now, this Machine Learning and other "Needed access" should be an "Opt-In" choice, period. We are paying you to use the application and store the data.

With most big companies these days, the only way to send a message is hurting the income/sales, so if this is not changed, I'll not renew my subscription next year and move to a private and open source cloud solution. I hope more people see the concerns and do the same.

Really disappointed.

• Replies 273
  • Created
  • Last Reply

We’ve heard your comments and we are not making the changes to our privacy policy that we’d previously announced. Over the coming months, we will be revising our existing privacy policy to reaffirm this commitment. See our latest blog post for more info.

Let us know what you think below. If you're new to our forums and would like to join the discussion, click "Sign In" at the top right, enter your Evernote account info, select a Display Name and you're all set. As a spam protection your first comment always needs moderation first. After that, you are free to comment as often as you wish. Welcome to our community.