Restore Custom Font Support

icurly

Idea

22 replies to this idea

6 minutes ago, AdamTheDesigner said:

I have not yet updated to v10. Am I understanding correctly that the Mac desktop app now limits you to 6 font choices? If so, can someone tell me what the fonts are? Thanks.

Hi Adam,

Yes- there are only 6 font choices- Serif, Slab Serif, San Serif, Monospace, Script and Handwritten. They are just generic fonts like on every other boring generic note app or browser. Ugh. SO disappointing ☹️. They are not awful fonts but VERY bare bones and basic.

I am a Graphic Designer and I have over 150,000 fonts. Not that I would activate or need that many choices all at once 🤣 but I should at least be able to select anything that is already activated in FontExplorer or Suitcase Fusion.

I mean I understand WHY Evernote did this- so the formatting would be the same across iPad, iPhone, Web, Desktop, etc. but I would never need my desktop fonts to necessarily match my iOS fonts. I work from home,  so I primate;y used Evernote Desktop. I look at the iOS Evernote iPhone & iPad Apps as a “viewing and making minor changes” Apps. Not for doing extensive work or collaborating.

• Like 1
  • Level 5

Anybody who knows a little about typography, preinstalled fonts and what fonts cost when you need or buy one could have known.

Personally I think one should decide what to do with a note program like EN. It is not a page layouter, by no means. If one needs a reactive page design (to adapt a note flexibly to the device on which it is presented), embedded layout goes to hell and is replaced by a „theme“. This is practically what the v10 client does. The fonts are part of that „theme“ used to present the note, wherever opened. For this the new font selection is sufficient.

When I need a layouted page, I use my text program (Pages on my Mac, Libre Office on PC) and embed the document into the note. If I need a print design, I use a DTP program.