Feel like Evernote has stolen from me

I've been using Evernote since (at least) 2005. This was prior to the current rental terms they have now.

I was very impressed with it at that time, and purchased a registered copy. It worked fine for a while, then they switched to this rental system, and I lost my paid version.

Now they've gone and changed their system again making it useless. I can no longer use Evernote now, despite purchasing it and supporting them when they were in their infancy.

I understand that they want to go to a rental scheme, but that's unfair for people who purchased their copy.

I am very disappointed.

• Like 1
  • Level 5*
2 minutes ago, DavidLGCrawford said:

2005. This was prior to the current rental terms they have now.

I've been subscribing since 2008 - wasn't aware there ever was a purchase scheme.  If you had free use of the service for nearly 20 years I think it's been a pretty good deal...  What type of contract did your details show?  And what changed recently that makes you say it's now useless?

• Like 3
  • Level 5*

I sit corrected... I should have said "you used the service without paying a further fee for nearly 20 years..." ;)

18 minutes ago, DavidLGCrawford said:

you can only have one notebook, and a limit of 50 notes

Your account type must have changed to Free at some stage then,  because that's the limitation they recently placed on that contract type.  Whatever - we're mainly other users here,  not Evernote staff.  If you wish to protest I'd suggest you contact them on https://help.evernote.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?guest=true  - and use the issue type "Account".

I sympathise with the frustrations of paying more than once for 'lifetime' membership - I have several apps where my payments turned out to be for a certain version,  or for a particular period and further upgrades require more payments.  

At least in this case you don't lose access to your existing notes,  but won't be able to create more...