• Level 5*

Hi.  I've been using Evernote for around 15 years and have 60,000+ notes and my database is just over 30GB = 31,457,280 KB if your storage is over twice that,  you have a LOT of content!  You have two choices - you can ask Evernote to dump the database so it's not in permanent storage (see below) - or you can find out how to apply symbolic links to convince Evernote that it's still dealing with the default location while connecting with another local device.

Screenshot2023-02-26180455.png.ae3136b0d50f336729c2515d90aa0bcb.png

On Windows, symbolic links to folders can be defined by using MKLINK command in a DOS-Box with Administrator rights. Main part of Evernote's local data is stored in folder C:\Users\<your-login-name>\AppData\Roaming\Evernote\resource-cache. Here you will find a folder called User<ID> whereas "ID" is a unique identifier of your EN account.

You may move this folder to an other drive by...
  • Stop Evernote (File -> Exit)
  • in Explorer:
    • create a destination folder on an other drive (i.e. Q:\Appdata\Evernote - was my choice)
    • navigate to C:\Users\<your-login-name>\AppData\Roaming\Evernote\resource-cache
    • mark folder User<ID>
    • type Ctrl-X
    • navigate to you destination folder
    • type Ctrl-V
  • wait some time until all data is moved
    • folder ...\resource-cache is empty now...
  • start a CMD window in Administrator mode by
    • hit <Windows> key and type CMD
    • Right-Click on app icon and select "Start as Administrator"
  • in CMD window type
    • CD C:\Users\<your-login-name>\AppData\Roaming\Evernote\resource-cache
    • MKLINK /D User<ID> Q:\Appdata\Evernote\User<ID>
    • EXIT
  • Restart Evernote
I tried this by myself and moved my 12 GB of EN's local cache from system drive C:\ to my local drive Q:\.
But keep in mind: this is not a supported way of Evernote. Former versions ("Legacy") offered supported settings to relocate the local cache - much more convinient to users 😉
  • Like 5