I Can't Access MY Notes On MY Device? Really?

Go to solution Solved by amanda_h,

Okay, I've been using Evernote for quite some time, I have dozens and dozens of lists on it, and I am quite frequently not connected to the internet (I fly planes for a living).  So, I go to access my notes while over the Pacific, and it says "No Internet Connection", and come to find out that I have to upgrade and pay THIRTY FIVE DOLLARS A YEAR to access MY notes that exist on MY device?

Seriously?  

I mean, I just want to make sure I have my facts straight, and that I haven't somehow misinterpreted or clicked on the wrong thing before my head explodes.  If I am wrong, if I can access my notes when not connected to the internet then 1) please tell me how and 2) ignore the following rant.

From what I can see, Evernote has inserted code into the app so that before I can access my data it looks for an internet connection and, if it doesn't see one, it denies me access to MY data which resides on MY device.  Then, as if that isn't enough, it essentially holds it for ransom (when I'm not connected) by demanding THIRTY FIVE DOLLARS A YEAR to access my very own data on my very own device.

Now, I understand that Evernote has to pay the bills, and I don't mind paying for an app and I've done so, and I sometimes don't mind ads, and I've paid to get ad-free versions of apps, but this is really, Really, REALLY too much.  For God's sake, we should be able to access our own data on our own devices, and you can charge us for syncing across devices which, after all, does require Evernote servers.

Please tell me I have this wrong.

• Like 1
  • Solution

Hi @alienbogey,