Tags 101

I'm new to Evernote and the use of tags as my dominant organizing tool.  How do I set up tag hierarchies or parent tags?  Most conversations I've read that involve tags have been over my head!  Oh and I am an IOS device and Mac user if that makes a difference.  Thank you!

• Level 5*
2 hours ago, Safir559 said:

How do I set up tag hierarchies or parent tags?

Tag hierarchy is a Mac/Windows function (for now)

You access the tag page by clicking the tag icon in the sidebar, or View > Tags

To create parent tags, drag tags on top of another tag780564372_ScreenShot2019-07-30at12_34_45.png.9721e2c859256930fe5cf8554331a7bc.png

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1
  • Level 5*

If its of any help I found tags confusing when I started - not least because over about 100 tags I lose track of what terms to apply to any given note.  I opted for a title-based system which includes the date of the event or document I'm writing about,  the type of the occurrence,  the name of any person or company involved,  and any keywords that occur to me.  So a bill from my mechanic for a car service yesterday would be 20190729 - invoice - smith & jones - car service.

The format of the content is simple enough to remember and apply consistently.  The date layout is reliably sortable,  and I don't normally need much more data to be able to find everything I need. 

Designing a tag system becomes easier once you have some notes on which to base it,  so it might be preferable to go with 'simple' for the time being and see what develops...

• Level 5*
20 hours ago, Safir559 said:

I'm new to Evernote and the use of tags as my dominant organizing tool.  How do I set up tag hierarchies or parent tags?  Most conversations I've read that involve tags have been over my head!  Oh and I am an IOS device and Mac user if that makes a difference.  Thank you!