Not Very Happy Right Now

allendick

Happy that Evernote has been working flawlessly for quite a while and the growing pains seem to be gone.

However, today I could not find a note and I found that EN had added a conflicted folder and had moved a copy of the note into it on each of two machines. It seems that somehow I had conflicted copies. Of course my first reaction was to look for a 'note comparison' function to determine any differences.

I found none, so I moved the notes back into the proper notebook and merged them, intending to check for differences manually.

For neatness, I then deleted the now-empty "conflicted" notebook, emptied the trash, and went to the proper notebook to edit the combined note.

It was gone.

No worries, I thought, I have a subscription, so there should be a backup.

Apparently not. There are backups for non-deleted notes, but if there are backups for deleted notes, I cannot find it.

Shouldn't there be?

A search through the knowledge base and the forum, I saw nothing.

• Level 5

Everyone should have a backup system. The information in Evernote gets more valuable the longer you use it.

I manually back up Evernote regularly, as well as before every upgrade, and let Carbonite do the automatic daily backups.

In Windows, it is so easy to backup.

>Tools

>Options

- Open Database Folder

If you have local non-sync'd notebooks, those have to be backed up separately.

Right click on the notebook name, and select Export (.enex format)

Long shot, but the Evernote Support might be able to help.

Thanks. I actually just installed on a new computer and becasue I pay for data, I simply copied the database across to the new machine to save a big download, so I understand that.

I also have a local backup, BUT, who wants to do all that for one note that should never have disppeared in the first place?

After all, it was not even in the notebook I deleted! I had moved it out!