Are these forums being trolled by AI chatbots?

• Level 5

Lately I've noticed a couple of responses to old threads that haven't had posts in a year or more, which seem to simply summarize the initial post and some of the discussion, without necessarily using the specific terms found in previous posts, and without making any actual contribution to the discussion. Here is an example:

The post is bland, to the point where one user described it in the thread as "bloodless." That's a good description, and I would say pointless as well. To me, this feels like a proof-of-concept attempt by some actor who is not a participant in the forums, some kind of test of whether an AI chatbot like chatGPT can draw information from a forum thread and produce a rational-seeming reply.

Here is another example, which draws on information from outside the forum thread:

Regarding the two or three that I've seen, I would give them an A+ for Artificial, D+ for Intelligence. I'm a retired professor in the humanities, very used to spotting "filler" text in a student paper, something meant just to reach the required number of pages without having to, you know, think of anything. These posts feel like that, and they follow the same practice of cobbling together already-expressed ideas with some changes in wording. They use coherent, correctly formed English sentences to make coherent, and yet somehow utterly useless, paragraphs.

But surely nothing done online is completely pointless. If this is bot-work, what is its purpose? Possibilities that come to my mind:

1. Simply testing to see whether the generated response seems (to the bot-controller) to be acceptable prose.
  2. Testing to see whether other people in the forum are fooled into thinking this is a real person. So far, not happening.
  3. A beginning of some effort to manipulate discussion in the forums to serve some ulterior motivation, perhaps in service of an Evernote competitor.