Improving search function

galaxywarrior

Idea

Hello there, I've been using Evernote for two years and I really enjoy the app! Makes studying and reviewing notes a lot more convenient. Thank you!

I would like to provide a suggestion about the searching function. Most of the time I only remember the title of the note, so if I want to search for a note, I usually type the title in the search box. However, I may have to scroll through 20 notes to find the note that I'm looking for because every note that includes the term pops up in the search. This process is a little frustrating. It would be amazing if you could program Evernote so that the when I search for a term, the note title that includes the search term shows up at the very top. 

Thanks again. 

13 replies to this idea

• Level 5*
19 hours ago, galaxywarrior said:

It would be amazing if you could program Evernote so that the when I search for a term, the note title that includes the search term shows up at the very top. 

This is generally not how Evernote sorts any result list. It finds the notes that match your search, and then applies the current sort criteria (e.g. by note title, created time, updated time, note author, size, etc.). It's a single sort only; there are no separate buckets for breaking out subclasses of the result set. You can, @gazumped pointed out, break this particular search out on your own using 'intitle:'.

Thanks for posting the question. I also love Evernote but have generally had a hard time with searching for notes. The search results are always displayed in a less relevant order than I'm expecting. I kind of wish it was more similar to google search. I think I need to get better at Evernote search because even if everything is possible, it doesn't seem as intuitive.

• Level 5*
13 hours ago, Elliot On Evernote said:

even if everything is possible, it doesn't seem as intuitive.