Evernote Lagging when Typing

I have been using Evernote for 3 years, however in the last month it has gotten extremely slow, with lag when typing, and regular application freezes. 

The program is installed on my SSD, with the sync folder located on the HDD (since I don't have space on the SSD to contain both). However, I still encounter these issues on my desktop (which has the program and files located on a single HDD). The program has been reinstalled a number of times, but the issues still persist. I have also tried to export my notes, and then reimport them. In addition, I have deleted older notes that are excessive in size, however none of these changes have fixed the lag when typing, or the freezes. 

Any advice on how to fix this? Or if not, is there another (preferably free) program similar to Evernote that I can use as an alternative? 

My Laptop Specs: Core i7, GTX1060, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 2TB HDD. 

Desktop Specs: Core i7, GTX1060, 32GB RAM, 2TB HDD

• 2 months later...
  • 2 months later...

I have the same issue. I keep hold down the "a" key and it will print 5 then stop for a sec, print another 30+- then stop a sec, print another 30+- or so and stop for a sec. Same thing with erasing. There is a lag while typing. I even disabled on demand sync and sync in the background.

I have this issue at home computer (Windows 10) and at work computer (Windows 8) for the last few months already.

And yes the web version is definitely better. Hold down the "a" key and there is no lag printing it.

Same issue. FYI to test it out, I just started typing random characters and found the text would lag every 7 seconds or so. This is insanely annoying. You get an idea, you want to note it, and it chokes for a few seconds. This isn't 1983, I think an app can handle TYPING.

Evernote is not slow. I can do search on the note with pretty decent speed. This is all about typing. It is not responsive.