I'm very new to Evernote and have signed up for Premium service.  I have a  question/request.  Wouldn't it be so much easier if there was the facility for a proper folder and notes hierarchy in the sidebar?

The Notebook/Notes concept seems odd - and not intuitive to OS X.  As far as I can see, you can create a "stack" with notebooks within it but you can't then put that stack inside another folder.  And yet you can nest folders very happily in the Mac OS - or mailboxes in the sidebar in Mail.  It seems to me that Evernote is a working environment within the Mac OS and should ideally follow the basic rules of the finder.

For example, I would like to create two Folders, (or call them notebooks or stacks): WORK and HOME.  Within WORK, I'd like to have folders, (or Notebooks), for each project and, within each project folder, the notes themselves, (plus clips, PDFs, etc).  This would be utterly straightforward in Finder, (or within the mailbox sidebar in Apple Mail), but in Evernote I can't nest in this way, nor display a simple expandable tree structure showing folders within folders in the sidebar.

I'm sure there are devotees of Evernote who will tell me why this is a very bad idea but the lack of such a facility has slowed down my migration from Apple Notes to Evernote, as well as restricting the intuitive way I would have preferred to order my work.

• Level 5*

There's ample discussion on this topic. Search the forums for "nested notebooks", and you'll see.

For the record, stacks are not notebooks. Stacks contain only notebooks, and notebooks contain only notes. Your simple case would be handled fine by two separate stacks, WORK and HOME, with notebooks nested under them as appropriate. You cannot however, nest any deeper.

I am a devotee of Evernote, and while I won't tell you that fully nested folders are a bad thing, I can tell you that it's not the Evernote way. Personally, I don't miss them.

• Level 5*