(Archived) Todo?

Remember The Milk (RTM) and Toodledo both have a good number of features. I've been using RTM for a couple of years on and off. It's tag-based model with "smartlists" (similar to EN's "saved searches") and "hard lists" (similar to EN's notebooks) work pretty well, and because they are so open, you can implement your own system in many way. There are lots of greasemonkey and stylish scripts that let you enhance the UI and I rigged one up based on someone else's code to make a more graphical GTD UI. Unfortunately, though, there are limitations as well. RTM has no built in task hierarchies (ie subtasks), and their development as far as new features and enhancments to their core product is just about nill for well over a year. Most of their VISIBLE work seems to be around expanding to other platforms/browsers/etc. They do have an iPhone app.

I'd love to see some kind of integration between EN and RTM, or perhaps even better EN taking on some of those basic task management functionality. I guess you can rig EN to do similar things via the Todo checkbox and such, but the main thing EN is missing that RTM offers is ways to actively notify you (via email, sms, etc.) that a task needs to get done. If EN could add notifications, that might allow me to finally bid RTM goodbye...

I highly recommend Things by Cultured Code, both for the iPhone and Mac.

I use it along with Evernote on iPhone and Mac, and the two work perfectly together. Things is the best GTD application I have seen yet, and Evernote allows me to capture more detail for any given task.

HTH.

• 1 month later...

would have to agree with "Things" being very cool, especially with the Iphone. I too use it with EverNote.

I sync Iphone, Mac and PC with evernote. Things is only Mac.

reQuall is alos neat with the Iphone especially if you do alot of dictation vs. writing....

• 2 months later...