Searching inside already-OCRed pdfs with Free plan

I've been using Evernote for 15 years now, mostly on the Free plan but occasionally on a higher plan as and when needed.  At present I'm on the Free plan.

When I scan my paper documents for Evernote, I always perform an OCR on these before adding to Evernote, so they already have a text layer.  Therefore, I'm not relying on Evernote to do the OCR.

I'm sure it used to be the case that you could search within these pdfs even under the Free plan, i.e. on pdfs that were OCRed before importing into Evernote?  I know that an upgrade was needed for searching inside pure image-based pdfs, but all my pdfs have been OCRed in advance. 

Did this change?  When?  A storage system without any means to search within the storage system is completely useless!

So far as the search is concerned, these documents are text-based, not image-based, and we shouldn't need an upgrade for a text-based search?  I don't care if the search terms are not highlighted in the filtered documents, I just need to be able to find documents that contain the search terms.

It definitely used to be possible.  And it still is, at least up to a certain date.  I can enter search terms now and find notes (pdfs) that match those search terms, going back to 2008.  But I'm not seeing anything imported after around 2018. 

This would be really disappointing if I can't find anything imported since then, without paying a monthly fee!  Maybe time to consider other solutions.

Even that's not particularly helpful, because it doesn't distinguish between pdfs that already contain a text layer, and those that don't.  IMHO, if the document is text-based, which an OCRed pdf effectively is, it should be searchable regardless of plan.

And it refers to "Evernote Premium and Business only" when the only options I see are "Personal and Professional".  Surely the least they can do is keep their help pages current?

• Level 5