Evernote on Mac Update Frequency is very annoying

Go to solution Solved by markjan101,

Hi there. I am an EN Pro subscriber. I have EN installed on my Apple M1 Mac and it seems like every second day I am being prompted to download and install an update. If I have the app open in the background, when the EN upgrade popup decides to trigger, it brings EN to the front and disrupts whatever I'm working on. In a previous forum post, it seems there's an option on Windows to disable automatic checks for the Windows app. Can this please be done for the Mac version?

• Like 2
  • Level 5

Just a question: Why don’t you simply update ?

Updates will roughly be released every 2-3 weeks, so they will be back. I am not aware of a setting to switch it off. You should install updates anyhow - they are containing bugfixes all the time, and often new features or capabilities.

But I agree, the way the information is pushed is annoying.

I have this same issue but it is every. single. day and refers to Evernote Clipper in Safari.  Similarly, it doesn't matter what app I'm working in, the pop up shows up while  I'm in the middle of working on something.  Having that pop up requiring updates so frequently is extremely ineffective, intrusive and annoying.  I'm going to see if there's a way of shutting off these notifications but in the meantime if EN has a fix, I hope it's posted here. 

• Level 5

OK, you have chosen your strategy: Stop paying for Evernote.

My intention is not to pay Evernote, I pay for the service I use, and I pay if it creates value for me. Getting fresh, better software (it is called „update“, just BTW) for me is part of what I pay for.

Let us have a look at your strategy: You stopped paying, but probably you are still using it. So what you get now is the update messages (because they update the software, not the subscribing clients only) PLUS you get the „Free account nagging“ to subscribe. If it has not started yet, it will once your subscription expires.