Massive multiple copies of Notes

I've been using Evernote for several years in both the Android and Windows PC versions and nothing like this has been happening to me before with any of the roughly 200 Notes I've created. Starting a little over a week ago, I noticed one of the Notes I had most recently edited suddenly and inexplicably had 5 seemingly identical copies and another recently edited Note had 4 identical copies.

I wasn't sure where that came from or what I should do about it. I was kind of afraid that if I deleted the copies that might somehow delete the remaining Note's underlying content as well, since I couldn't imagine why this had happened in the first place (having never experienced anything like this in the preceding years of using Evernote).

So I renamed one of the copies to a different name (to distinguish it as my "real" ongoing Note) and continued to make changes there. A few days later I discovered that this Note had now mysteriously proliferated during the preceding couple of days to a mind-boggling almost 9,000 copies!

That is not a typo--I opened the Evernote app on my PC and saw that it said I had 9,053 Notes (keep in mind that I only had roughly 200 various Notes total prior to this). I also checked my Evernote on Android and found the same massive number of copies of Notes.

After searching around I found this article and tried doing what it suggests using Evernote for Windows:

https://help.evernote.com/hc/en-us/articles/208313658-Remove-duplicate-notes-from-your-account

But as is mentioned elsewhere in an Evernote discussion, I'm limited to selecting 50 Notes at a time. I also discovered that to delete just 50 notes all at once takes a whopping 8 minutes. (Perhaps that exorbitant length of time is somehow driven by the fact that there are now so many Notes in my account?)