Electron, CPU usage, bugs, etc. - SHAMBLES!

I'm appalled with the decision to use Electron for v10. It has obviously made the app slower, more buggy and it simply doesn't feel like a native Mac app anymore. Been a premium subscriber for 8+ years or so and was reasonably happy up until v10. Now with the latest update 10.5.7 almost every time I switch notebooks the app crashes (probably because ***** Javascript code) and I have to "Reload page".

Using Electron also makes your CPU usage higher and it's constantly idling with around 4% usage. On a MBP Core i9. 

Where's QA!? It boggles the mind how this garbage manages to go through a QA dept. you've supposedly built up over 10 years. I'm a developer myself so I know all software has bugs but this is horrendous.

I'll be shopping for a native notes app. Bear.app looks promising. 

• Like 1

I would also prefer native app as much as possible. Yes there are some electron apps that I need to use (like slack) but at least I am not paying for any other Electron app as apart from Evernote.

Electron is great piece of engineering, kudos to them. But it is bloated, RAM and CPU hungry software. What would you expect when you bundle an instance of chrome inside your app.

Here is Evernote 10 (Electron based)

image.thumb.png.2f9b04e89e960381f44f94cac027ce84.png

And here is the classic (native) app

image.thumb.png.cfe3a2e9e3ac74c329aefd215f3b3908.png

• Like 1
3 hours ago, kay dee said:

I would also prefer native app as much as possible. Yes there are some electron apps that I need to use (like slack) but at least I am not paying for any other Electron app as apart from Evernote.

Electron is great piece of engineering, kudos to them. But it is bloated, RAM and CPU hungry software. What would you expect when you bundle an instance of chrome inside your app.

Exactly. I've cancelled my premium membership and migrated to Bear.app. Wonderful native notes app.