So I've been using Evernote for close to two years now and I noticed within the last 3 or so months that It has started to lag very badly. It used to run buttery smooth, but now typing and hyperlinking stuff is a pain in the ass. So much so that most of the time I don't bother using Evernote anymore. This happens on both my Windows 7 gaming machine and a Windows 10 laptop. Both machines have good specs so there is no reason for this lag.

I would appreciate some help in troubleshooting this issue.

• Level 5

1.) Are you running the latest version? Windows 6.0.6.1769 (301769) Public? The 6.0 versions do seem faster than the 5.0 versions.I still see the "Evernote not responding" message, but it is not the 5 minute-long waits that I used to see.

2.) The only other suggestion I've seen mentioned by other users is to switch over to a SSD drive (but I doubt Evernote would agree that is the solution)

-I'm on the latest version. 

-I'm using an SSD drive..

I think it may have something to do with the database as I've heard mentions of something along those lines before, but I'm not very experienced with Evernote from a technical level and I don't want to wipe out all of my notes. 

• Level 5

In the past, Evernote would often suggest that the user uninstall Evernote, then reinstall and sync down from the cloud.

Before going down that route, I would suggest you contact Evernote Support first.

I've tried to uninstall Evernote numerous times and it doesn't fix the issue.

I don't think I've tried to sync from the cloud unless it does that automatically when you reinstall.

I'm a free member, not paid. Evernote support staff only help you if you're a paid member from what I'm aware. I don't honestly have any use for the paid features otherwise I wouldn't have a problem paying for it to get some support.

• Level 5*