(Archived) Web Archives

DesignerPaul

Idea

Current implementation of saving web pages to Evernote seems poor. The web clipper from firefox is terrible and retains no styling. From Safari it is better but still not great as a PDF is made as it would be printed. This isn't useful to me, as a web designer, I often want to save a page as inspiration for future projects and an ugly printed PDF is not good enough for this. I would like to be able to save the page as rendered online and even better have access to the original code at a later date.

I wonder why Evernote does not just save the entire page as a web archive and have an internal browser to display it inside Evernote? Other applications I have used do it this way (Devonthink and Together) and seems to me a much neater solution.

I love Evernote for its syncing capabilities, OCR, and IPhone app but this is the one thing that is going to stop me from switching over to it.

9 replies to this idea

Due to having numerous style sheets available on the web we try to capture the most common styles out there which is why you get different results when saving to Evernote. I do have several options available to you to help capture this information in your Windows client.

1. When you wish to capture content from a web page please highlight the content/text you want to capture in Evernote then right click and Save to Evernote

2. Once captured in Evernote you can always try using the Simplified Formatting Option, this is the last option under the Format Menu in Evernote

3. If you have a MAC client you can always print the page to a PDF first then add it to Evernote

We are actively working on making formatting content easier and more readable when sending web pages to Evernote from a browser, but as I mentioned due to numerous style and formatting options available when creating web pages it is not an easy task to undertake.

Hope this helps