New Evernote Note extremely slow to open (21 seconds per note) on Mac 10.60.4

Go to solution Solved by RichW,

I've been using Evernote for 13 years and I have 32,198 notes as of today.  Until recently (I don't recall which version or date), it was still snappy and very usable.  Now that it takes 19 to 21 seconds just to open a new note so I can jot down some thoughts, which is almost unusable.  This is for NEW notes, not clicking on existing notes that may need to be updated to a new format.  I don't understand why they would design their code so that just opening a new note would bring the system to its knees, regardless of how many notes you have.

It appears they made some design choices that do not support the customers who have been with Evernote for a decade or more and have their whole life in Evernote.

I'm running Evernote for Mac 10.60.4 and this has been happening for months.  However, when I just upgraded from the previous version to 10.60.4, the time to open a note went from 16 seconds to 21 seconds by my stopwatch.  I'm running Ventura 13.4 and I'm on a 2020 Macbook pro with 64GB of memory.  While the note is opening, the MacOS Activity monitor says Evernote is using 115% of the CPU, whatever that means. 

Activity_Monitor_and_Inbox_-_Evernote_and_Weekly_Damian_with_Shawn_8-8-23.jpg

• Like 2
  • Level 5

The CPU measure is per core. It means that EN uses a little more than an entire core.

That‘s a lot, and the time to open a note is excessive. These are 2 signs that something is wrong with your install.

I would completely erase the current install from the Mac, using the app AppCleaner. The regular uninstall won’t do. Check all program parts for uninstalling, including the database.

Then restart the Mac. Download EN from the website, open and login.

Should be much better now. Creating a new note is maybe a second on my Mac. CPU is below 10% on idle, and rarely goes briefly up to 30% (MBP 15“ 2018, i7).

• Level 5