Phone Extension Numbers

Forgive me if I have missed this, but I have searched for a while before posting here...

I am new to Evernote, and was wooed by the business card scanning feature.

I noticed after scanning some cards, that the phone numbers didn't come out in the right format; "No problem" I thought, I'll just go in and fix the formatting once I'm done scanning all these cards in.

I am attempting to input numbers in the following format, but am having issues: (555) 555-5555 x1234

Does Evernote have support for "extensions" as such, or is this something that's just missing?

• Level 5*
1 hour ago, pyrotherm said:

I am attempting to input numbers in the following format

Hi.  Where are you inputting numbers to?  And what device / OS / Evernote version are you using?

• Level 5

@pyrotherm You have a very US-centric view, just to mention it. The world has more phone number formats than that, so any preset will probably run against some „make it look nice“ convention somewhere on the globe.

Usually apps dedicated to such jobs like scanning business cards will ask or try to detect the country of origin, and adapt certain field’s accordingly. Just as an example: In continental Europe ZIP Codes are usually numeric - in UK they are alpha (no wonder they choose the Brexit, instead of changing their ZIP codes). My card scanning app works like that - and I usually scan cards grouped by country, and select the next country before starting the scan. Scanning quality is significantly improved, the fields look better, and the OCR improves.

Back to EN: None of this exists in the EN business card scanner. You don’t need to format by „extension“ - the number will be dialed just fine without any brackets, dashs, x-es or else. If you want to have it adapted to your viewing habits, you probably need to change it by hand. No idea if the dialing from the note will still work after saturating a numeric field with characters.