Cannot log-in to the desktop app

Hi folks!
I am new to Evernote, but since everyone kept saying how incredibly amazing it was I decided I should give it a try.
I can log in just fine with my Gmail account to the iOS app as well as to the web app from my desktop browser (Chrome on Mac OS Sierra).
However, when I try to log in to the desktop app, I keep receiving this message. 
Does anybody know how to fix it?

Thank you!

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 9.26.46 PM.png

• Level 5*
4 hours ago, Fiammaviva said:

However, when I try to log in to the desktop app, I keep receiving this message. 

I've never seen this error (Invalid response from the Evernote registration service)
- I don't use the google sign-in

I don't spend much time debugging my devices.  My solution process would be

1. Reboot my Mac - it often solves the problem
  2. Delete and reinstall the app
  3. Delete the app & database, reinstall the app, and let the database be rebuild from the servers
    Warning: The rebuild doesn't include Local Notebooks or unsynced notes
    The app AppCleaner is recommended for deleting Evernote entirely from your Mac
27 minutes ago, DTLow said:

I've never seen this error (Invalid response from the Evernote registration service)
- I don't use the google sign-in

I don't spend much time debugging my devices.  My solution process would be

1. Reboot my Mac - it often solves the problem
  2. Delete and reinstall the app
  3. Delete the app & database, reinstall the app, and let the database be rebuild from the servers
    Warning: The rebuild doesn't include Local Notebooks or unsynced notes
    The app AppCleaner is recommended for deleting Evernote entirely from your Mac

I tried everything you recommended, but unfortunately unsuccessfully... What I really cannot get my mind around is why the web app works and the real app does not, both from the same Mac...Is there any workaround? Thanks!

32 minutes ago, gazumped said: