Insert table irretrievably overwrites selected text

I have just tried to move some text in a (very important) note in to a table. So I selected the text and then clicked on insert table, expecting it to behave like Word, LibreOffice etc would. It didn't. It just overwrote it. To make matter worse, for reasons I don't understand, I couldn't restore the text by ctrl-z. This is very bad.

Fortunately I have a premium subscription so was able to restore the note from an old version, so no harm done. But please make this feature a bit less nasty. (If it deleted the text it's a feature. If it deletes it irretrievably then it's a bug IMHO)

• Level 5*

I'll go with your definitions here - I haven't attempted to insert any large tables lately,  but I would be... disconcerted...  loudly...  if a block of text were a casualty.  Seems to me though that it's also standard Windows behaviour that if you select a block of text and then do - something - like hit the space bar,  or the Tables key,  the text will be deleted.  If I'm copying text into a table,  I tend to create the table first,  then move (or copy) the text.  Thanks for the reminder though that bad things can happen,,,

@TimGreeningJackson

Have you tried just pressing CTRL+Z a whole bunch of times? I started a thread and support ticket about undoing things with tables taking a dozen or so attempts.

I got the standard "We're aware of the issue and maybe we'll fix it in the future, but we don't offer timelines." Given that these issues are many years old, I'd say they're like to endure.

If you use a lot of tables, use MS Excel or Google Docs or something like that.

Yes. Of course I did. Probably a couple of dozen times. With mounting disbelief and horror. But it didn't work.

I subsequently tried reproducing the problem (with some unimportant data) but couldn't. However, I assure you that when I discovered the problem the text was most definitely lost and that Ctrl-Z didn't work.