Terrible Experience

Hi All -

I've been a long time user of Evernote on a personal level, and have recommended their product to many people and even businesses. However, my recent experience left me very bitter about them. I've thought of them to be a nice friendly company, who although aren't perfect, do want to please. But apparently.... I don't have much words. 

Here is what happened. 

I've been using evernote for personal use for many years. I do business consulting. I was working with a specific company, who needed much help with their customer file organization. While working with them to build a database, I had them use evernote temporarily. Not a solid or permanent solution at all, but with evernote's business accounts, we were able to make it work. 

Needless to say, a whole lot of very critical data and information was in there. Obviously we kept backing it up and saving copies, but at the speed that the business was preforming, at any given moment, there was critical information which we needed to rely on evernote for. 

Somehow, the account wasn't renewed. And, we tried renewing the account, but it said that if we want to get back all of our notes (critical notes!) we need to contact evernote directly. We have filled out a handful of tickets on their website with our email and phone numbers - all clearly saying how critical it was for them to get back for a time sensitive issue of our data. 

Some of them read - 

- My account was somehow closed. We have very very very important information in there. Also time sensitive. We have about 45 customers trying to....

- You closed my account, and our entire business is on it! Please help...

This was an extremely time sensitive matter. This was a glitch that costed literally thousands of dollars! True the company should have been backed up more appropriately, but that's why they hired me, and changes don't happen overnight. Evernote should have been able to handle this, and should have gotten back to us.