Organizing notes taken from readings

• Level 5*

I'm relatively new to EN and have a few hundred notes so far. I'm trying to minimize notebooks and rely more on tags as they seem to be far more powerful and flexible than notebooks. Only have 2 notebooks as of now - Inbox and Main.

A specific area I could use some input on is organizing my notes on books. When reading non-fiction books aimed at skill development (e.g., improving archery skills), I often take notes. In EN, this might result in, for example, 50 EN notes.

What are some ways to organize these EN notes? I like having a table of contents note which provides links to all the notes from a particular book. That seems preferable to having a tag for a book title or author, which doesn't allow for organization of the notes within a particular tag. Plus, using book titles or authors as tags can result in too many tags.

And my thinking is I can create tags for particular topics discussed in a book that may also be discussed in other books that I've read and taken notes on. For example, if I've read several archery books, I can create a tag for 'stance' or 'sight alignment' that lets me see all the notes on that particular topic. The same tags would also apply to non-book based notes - for example, notes based on my personal observations or practice sessions.

What about using the note title to organize these notes? Including the author or book title in every note seems like it could be cumbersome, plus it reduces the number of descriptive words I could otherwise put in the note title. I like the potential that using note titles has for reducing the need for dozens or hundreds of tags, but not sure how best to take advantage of this possibility.

Any thoughts on the foregoing or other ideas on organizing notes based on books/readings?