(Archived) request: tagging similiar to onenote

im a onenote convert who used the tagging feature alot. i miss being able to tag a word or group of words in a note, and later being able to bring up that tag and only see those items tagged.

for instance, i use evernote in my aircraft maintenance business. i'll have a note for each open job, which i can update via iPad, android, web, you get the idea. included in the note would be parts i need to order to complete a job. lets say i need to order a specific tire. i would love to be able tag the tire part number with the tag 'parts to order'. then when i bring up that tag, a list of all my parts i need to order, including the tire, is displayed in front of me. once ordered i can change the tag to 'parts ordered'.

i admit im new to evernote, so this may be something that the program is capable of now, but from my experience the tagging feature brings up the whole note, not the tagged contents.

maybe a third party app?

• Level 5*

Hi - welcome to the Forum. I don't believe there are any apps, and there's certainly no direct way to 'tag' items in the way you describe. Searches and links come up with the beginning of the note, not the item(s) searched. The only possible workaround I can think of would be to post all the jobs with parts orders into a 'parts required' notebook, and to start all those notes with a list of the part details so a snippet view might include all you need...

Evernote is always being upgraded, so new features may help more; but at present there's no magic wand - sorry!

• Level 5*