Note-Taking app w/ text, handwriting, and .doc support

Hi everyone,

I have used Evernote for some time now as a note taking app while in class. This allows me to use the search function to help find key topics and such later on. I love the set-up, except for a few small problems:

I have a professor who periodically e-mails us a word document containing what he will be talking about in the next class session, and these pages frequently complain areas where we are to draw graphs and tables while in class. Is there an existing app (or feature that I'm not aware of in Evernote) for the iPad that will integrate importing a Word document and then allowing me to draw graphs while also typing additional notes (My handwriting is terrible, hence I like to be able to type)

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

• Level 5*

what a cruel professor! word is proprietary software that he is forcing his students to purchase. shame on him (i am a lecturer as well)!

evernote is not especially good at editing ongoing projects in non-text files (images, pdfs, etc.). this is especially true on the ipad, which makes it pretty difficult for different apps to work together. the standard procedure on the ipad is to click on a file and "open in" another application. this means that you literally cannot edit a non-text file in evernote on the ipad. short of folding pdf annotation and word processing features into one monster app, i don't think there is much evernote can do about this.

so, what do you do?

if i need to edit something, i convert it to a pdf (i use pdfprovider) and then open it in an application like iAnnotate or Note Taker HD in order to write on it. this should solve your problem. both apps also allow you to type. there are numerous other options out there (see link below), but i think the procedure is basically the same: convert to pdf and then annotate.