(Archived) REQUEST: Time and date stamp keyboard shortcut [OUTDATED—IMPLEMENTED]

bmehling

Idea

I've been using the Windows client for many years, with occasional use on my personal Mac. I'm switching to a Mac for work now and noted that:

a) The shortcuts don't really match... while some obvious ones do (e.g., control-n and command-n), many do not (e.g., start bullet or numbered lists). I find this odd and annoying given I will still be switching between platforms, potentially on a daily basis.

B) I constantly use EN to log meeting notes and minutes. I must use the 'insert current date/time' shortcut 10 times a day (on Windows). In my first meeting on the Mac -- and there's nothing! I cannot even find a menu option to do it. Weird.

Is there a proper way to log Product feedback to the EN team?

Thanks.

9 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

The proper way is to post in the forum, as you did; Evernote staff do read them all, even if they don't reply to them. For out-and-out bugs, particularly where your data is at risk, you're usually better off filing a support ticket (but do check the forums first, in case someone else has encountered the same problem as you).

• Level 5*

1. The long term aim is to have as consistent an experience as is possible across the clients. However, pace of development is different on different platforms and it's pretty obvious that they are never going to be identical.

2. Take a look at Textexpander - it's a great app for OS X that allows you to create short pieces of text that it then expands into larger bits. I use it for dates, email sigs, my conference call bridge, bits of legalese and a whole bunch of other stuff.

I was about to start a topic about this before I thought about searching for "Windows" in the Mac forum. The Mac has interface guidelines and practices that are worth respecting -- a Mac app should look like a Mac app -- and while this is looser in Windows it's also awkward when the Mac looks is forced (c.f. Safari).