(Archived) HOWTO: Import folder for Mac

dubainicola

Idea

Hello - I'm new to Evernote, and very keen to transfer a load of existing documentation and some photos on my computer into Evernote.

I've bought the Evernote Essentials ebook, and it's been really helpful, apart from one thing. It mentions using an automatic import folder, where you can put all the docs you want to load in in one folder on your computer, then Evernote will automatically check that folder and load in anything it finds.

But no-where can I find any instructions on how to actually set this up within Evernote?

I'm beginning to think it doesn't exist in Evernote for Mac?! Am I right?

Does anyone have any alternatives suitable for non-teccy people as to the bet way to get my large number of existing files into Evernote?

Many thanks...

Nicola in Holland

12 replies to this idea

I have a Windows box running most of the time anyway, so I've created a Dropbox folder called "Evernote Import", and set this folder as an import folder in the Evernote Windows client. Anything I drag into this folder on any other machine (provided Dropbox has been set up correctly) will be imported into Evernote. (usually quite fast too!)

The great part about this system is that Dropbox will act as a nice "holding" location if the Windows box isn't running. The only trick is to make sure you set the Windows machine to delete the file after importing, and to make sure Evernote is set to sync automatically.

• Level 5*

I have a Windows box running most of the time anyway, so I've created a Dropbox folder called "Evernote Import", and set this folder as an import folder in the Evernote Windows client. Anything I drag into this folder on any other machine (provided Dropbox has been set up correctly) will be imported into Evernote. (usually quite fast too!)