Evernote 10.55.2 hogs/eats all CPU constantly of one cpu-core

Go to solution Solved by hegoimse,

Recently upgraded to EN 10.xx version/series.

When editing a note, the process starts utilizing 20-25% CPU (I guess my cpu has 4 cores, so it hogs one core),
this goes on indefinitely/forever, until I kill the process in Windows Task Manager....

• Level 5

Hello, and welcome to the forums. My guess would be that this has to do with Evernote's near-constant syncing of changes while you edit. I'm not an expert on today's computer hardware, but is this a problem? Does it prevent the computer from doing other things in a timely way? I haven't checked, but I assume it works much the same way for me, and the machine does not seem hampered by it.

Thanks for replying.
Yes this is a problem.
I make one small edit in Evernote (takes a couple of seconds to do), then I leave Evernote be.
Evernote now starts using 25% cpu forever, without me using the app at all !
My computer has c:a 120 other process running which together use 10% cpu while idle, why should a single rogue Evernote idle process use 25% cpu?
This is not ok/normal!
Sure I can continue to use my computer while EN uses 25% cpu in background, but should not happen, it kills battery life...

• Like 1
  • Level 5

We had a similar issue a few months ago, after an update. We as other users don’t know what happened, but on a handful of devices (from forum posts less than 10) CPU usage went up. Others like me had no issue at all.

Probably the app is crunching on a piece of indigestible data, which causes it to loop.

As a fast measure I would log out and quit the app. Then use Revo Uninstaller (from the web) to purge every part of the app: Software, settings, data.