Different types of notes

Dr. Dark

Idea

Sometimes it'd be great if there were different types of notes. Right now a note can only be a page full of text, but there are more options than that.

For example it'd be great if a note could be just a link.
I realize you can do this easily by adding text inside a note, but it would be better if the note just straight up opened a predefined link in your browser, and no text note.
This would for example mean that as a student, I can open a note for a certain class, and then I can search my notes for a specific link. For example one note could be a link to my math book. Then I would remain inside my notes for that class, and easily find the website I need to.

Another type of notes, which would be really great to have in evernote, is mindmaps.
I realize this would be a bigger feature, but it would be extremely useful for taking notes. Then I wouldn't need to find some other websites or similar, that will often ask me to pay tons of credits for premium. I'm not interesting in using a ton of cash, just to make mindmaps.

A third type of note could be JUST an image, which would be similar to the first idea I proposed. So when I open a note, it instantly opens some image in image viewing mode.

5 replies to this idea

• Level 5*
1 hour ago, Dr. Dark said:

Right now a note can only be a page full of text, but there are more options than that.

The base format for notes is enml (basically html) which is text based   
Notes can also reference attachment files

A note can be text, with image attachment files displayed inline   
Sketch attachment files are also displayed inline along with text

As you noted, the text can contain links, links to external services (or other notes)
and it's a two step process    
1) Open the note in the Evernote window   
2) Open the link in an external app

3 minutes ago, DTLow said:

A note can be text, with image attachment files displayed inline