BUG: web version - Touch event in edit area disables edit mode

Hi there,

There is a bug in the web version of Evernote.

When editing a note (so that the formatting bar is visible) if I have a touch screen (e.g. Chromebook laptop) and use the screen to scroll in the note or to relocate the cursor, the edit mode is sort of disabled and it forces the cursor to go back to the first character of the document. The formatting bar also disappears. The only way to get out of that is to force the page to reload with CTRL+R.

I constantly have to remember to never touch the screen and scroll with the arrow keys instead, which is annoying because of course I forget all the time.

As a developer, my guess is that something in the touchstart event in Javascript disables the edit mode for whatever reason.

Thanks.

PS: you can move that to Web Client section, I didn't realize there was one.

On 5/15/2019 at 8:15 PM, FloLA said:

Hi there,

There is a bug in the web version of Evernote.

When editing a note (so that the formatting bar is visible) if I have a touch screen (e.g. Chromebook laptop) and use the screen to scroll in the note or to relocate the cursor, the edit mode is sort of disabled and it forces the cursor to go back to the first character of the document. The formatting bar also disappears. The only way to get out of that is to force the page to reload with CTRL+R.

I constantly have to remember to never touch the screen and scroll with the arrow keys instead, which is annoying because of course I forget all the time.

As a developer, my guess is that something in the touchstart event in Javascript disables the edit mode for whatever reason.

Thanks.

PS: you can move that to Web Client section, I didn't realize there was one.

Thanks so much for reporting this. I have filed a bug with engineering so they can investigate and fix. 

• Like 1
  • 3 weeks later...

Hi!