Best System for New User w/ a lot of Spinning Plates

StoopidEngineer

Good Afternoon Everyone, 

I've been using Evernote for quite a while, but never well, and often sporadically. I'm an Automation Engineer by day, and have a handful of side hustles (small businesses - a machine shop/tool company, real estate investments/land-lording) and family obligations (three kids with special needs/medical issues and a 4th soon to be adopted) that keep me extremely busy. So I'm pretty much busy like everyone else :-)

I like the idea of the 'Getting Things Done' philosophy, but haven't really seen a clean implementation of it with Evernote yet. I've done a fair amount of research, watched a bunch of videos, read some whitepages, and altogether probably spent more time than I should have on this, including reading here on the forum. Maybe I'm just bad at this, or maybe I've got research fatigue, but I'm not finding what I think I need. 

What I'm looking for is a step-by-step implementation of Evernote for someone like me with a lot of tasks, and a life with a ton of moving parts. I understand the basics, I can use the software, and I even know some of the tricks to it - I just can't watch another video or read another recap of one versus the other, or 'this is just like this, except for this' 40 minute long video. 

It doesn't need to be perfect, I just want something I can get in place and use. 

Thanks for the help everyone, even if it's just pointing me to a resource I haven't yet found. 

P.S. I don't mind paying for a .pdf or video or whatever, as long as it's reasonable, and not a monthly subscription to something. 

Thanks!

• Level 5*

Be aware that Evernote is a generic filing app.
You'll get more dedicated features in a dedicated task management app

I use Evernote for my task management process; I like having everything in one place
If you identify what you need from the process; we can advise you on how Evernote can be used