Product suggestion: text to speech for notes

Mark78

Idea

I would really like Evernote for Android to be able to have text to speech functionality. I have long drives to work and the ability to have text to speech available so that my notes could be read to me would be fantastic.

Shouldn't be hard to implement, as Android has the best platform for TTS. Most of the major apps I have downloaded already have this capability. I'm surprised that Evernote does not.

Thank you for considering this.

Mark

7 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

Is this necessary?  Depending on your hardware (Samsung etc) you may already have a TTS app installed,  and there are several on Play if you prefer something more natural sounding.  I have no experience of using either option to 'play' notes,  but it is noticeable that these apps involve LARGE downloads and would bloat out Evernote considerably if they were part of the standard action.

Yes, it is definitely necessary. I have several TTS apps. But a host app, like Evernote, needs to port its text to the TTS app. For instance the Pocket app has a menu item that says "Listen (TTS)", which ports the article text to the TTS app and reads it aloud. 

No, it would not bloat Evernote. All that Evernote is doing is porting text to the TTS engine. I am not requesting that Evernote create its own TTS engine (which would bloat EN), just that it would port note text to a TTS engine selected by the Android OS.

• Level 5*

OK - just askin';  I don't use Evernote (or TTS) in that way,  so didn't know.  I did find I can 'share' a note to PDF reader - which just gets the URL to read.  If you're dealing with PDFs that might be an option for the meantime.  But I now agree - +1 for making the note available to text readers.

I would really like Evernote for Android to be able to have text to speech functionality. I have long drives to work and the ability to have text to speech available so that my notes could be read to me would be fantastic.