(Archived) How do YOU use Penultimate?

TechBarber

So I have Penultimate on my iPad. I think it's a fantastic idea, but I'm having a bit of trouble getting it to work like a true pad and paper. 

I can see it being extremely useful for sketches and drawings, but I work as a Programmer/Analyst so a lot of the notes I need to take are actually just hand-written text. 

I'm using a Bamboo stylus, but I can't for the life of me write anything legible, unless it's in giant letters.

Is there a more precise stylus or a different technique you guys/gals are using to write hand-written notes? 

I was in a meeting last week and someone there was writing vigorously on their iPad screen. I couldn't see if it was Penultimate or not, and I was too far away to see the stylus too. In hindsight, I should have asked this person. 

• 1 month later...

I would like similar feedback... I just bought a Jot Pro fine tip stylus, but still can't get legible print without writing three words to a page.  I can't seem to figure out how this would replace handwritten notes.

I love the idea... as I always have to scan my handwritten pages, but my handwritting is bad enough without making it worse like penultimate seems to do.

I use Penultimate to take notes in meetings where using a keyboard would either be a barrier or would be awkward. I'm often at meetings where I'm not sitting at a table. I use a JotPro and a fairly narrow pen selection in Penultimate. It's still not as fine as using a pen but it's quite usable. And, even if I write a little bigger, I know I'm never going to run out of paper. The kind of notes I'm taking aren't generally terribly structured. They don't need to be tidy or formatted in any particular way. 

I also have a LiveScribe Sky. I like it a lot, like writing on paper. However, it's just one more thing to charge and carry. But, it's a good option if writing on an iPad screen isn't satisfying.