What counts against my upload limit?

Lemini

I have a premium subscription so my upload limit is 10GB. I know that adding files to my account will count against my upload limit, but what is the effect of modifying files? Specifically I want to move from notebook based organization to tag based organization. My plan is to shift all of my uploaded PDF documents to a generic "PDF" notebook and then use tags on each file to separate the files out by topic.

If I were to do this re-organization in the web client and then sync down the changes, would this count against my upload limit? I was under the impression that when you make changes in the desktop or mobile apps it re-uploads the file and therefore counts against the limit but in this case I'm making changes on the server and then pulling the changes down (I'm not uploading anything new).

• Level 5*
45 minutes ago, Lemini said:

I have a premium subscription so my upload limit is 10GB. I know that adding files to my account will count against my upload limit, but what is the effect of modifying files? Specifically I want to move from notebook based organization to tag based organization. My plan is to shift all of my uploaded PDF documents to a generic "PDF" notebook and then use tags on each file to separate the files out by topic.

If I were to do this re-organization in the web client and then sync down the changes, would this count against my upload limit? I was under the impression that when you make changes in the desktop or mobile apps it re-uploads the file and therefore counts against the limit but in this case I'm making changes on the server and then pulling the changes down (I'm not uploading anything new).

Good question
As you indicated, changing the notebook/tag does not update the note itself; just the metadata

My experience is on a Mac
The Mac database is relatively small and changes should have little effect on your upload limit