How do I set up classroom notebooks?

Okay, here's what I want (and btw this is exactly what my teaching partner has, and is already using, but she has a MAC and things just don't look the same):

* I'm a teacher, and I want all 31 of my students to have 5 notebooks that they share with me: math, science, etc. I place all of their notebooks of a certain subject stacked on my teacher notebook. That is...in my Teacher Math notebook are 31 student math notebooks. I click on the Teacher notebook, and I see all of theirs, and I can inspect their work, assignments, etc., communicate with them, the usual.

Same thing for writing, science, etc.  Is that clear? Please tell me if it isn't. 

The problem is that I can't figure out what to do at this point. I had them create Evernote accounts, which they all did. They sent me notes to check, we're good. 

Then I had them create their 5 notebooks each. I was told that to share a notebook with me they need to create a note in it first. I had them do that. Then they sent the note to me (and give permission to "edit and invite.")   

So I have a ton of notebooks arriving. What I was told was that I should now "share" each of their notebooks with myself; that is, my own email. I did this. 

I want to now stack all the incoming notebooks, but it doesn't seem to work. 

Is there ANYONE who can just give me a simple 1, 2, 3, workflow/explanation of how to get this happening? I just see tons of notes and notebooks and I can't figure out what to do.....THANKS for any help! 

• Level 5*

Hi.

It sounds like you did everything necessary up to and including receiving the notebooks.  The only bit I didn't understand was:

"share" each of their notebooks with myself; that is, my own email.

AFAICS there was no need to re-share any notebooks shared with you by students.