Hello,

I am quite new to Evernote and just now I got an e-mail that I upgraded to Evernote Premium while I can't remember doing so.

Can you please tell me how to undo this? I'm convinced that for power users the Premium option is valuable but I'm still finding my way around it so premium is not yet on my list.

Thank you!

Paul

It is unlikely you've upgrade to premium without deliberately doing so. First and foremost you need to enter your payment information, not something likely done by accident. 

Rather than trust an email, check to see if you really are now a premium subscriber. In the Evernote application, click on your username in the toolbar and select "account info". It should say you are free or premium, and you should have a quota of 60mb (free) or 1gb (or maybe 4gb; premium). You can also check this on the web at http://www.evernote.com, log in and select "account settings". 

Also from the Account Settings web page, you can check your purchase history (to see what happened, such as how and when you ended up becoming premium, if you actually did), and can prevent your subscription from renewing as well. If you want to cancel your subscription and get a prorated refund (if possible, depending on how you paid.... if you paid), you can contact support (contact info in my signature). 

First step though is to verify that you are actually a premium subscriber. 

Thank you for this quick reply. I have the impression that I somehow activated a free premium trial without really being aware of it, as I do have 4GB space reported but there is no billing information available in my account. It will expire next year April, so there should not be anything wrong.

Thank you again :-)

Paul