Evernote Portfolios High School Math

TeachGa

Greetings All,

I am a relative newbie to Evernote and soaking it in believing this will completely transform my teaching.  I have researched and read everything I can find on this topic and will continue to do so.

I want to incorporate this to use with Student portfolios.  I do have a premium account (ty S5), but I would be an early adapter at my school and will not be able to get school licenses.  I teacher 180 students, so there is no way I could create a folder for each one.  What I thought about doing is the following and I would love feedback,  suggestion, and comments:

-  Create a notebook for all scanned documents for students (probably different notebook for each period)

-  I will assign each students a certain code and on the top of each paper I will make them write the code (IE #501)

- I am more than willing to invest in a quality scanner such as the Evernote Snapscan

-  When I have a problem student or upcoming conference, I can do a search for their number and the OCR should pick up all documents that have that number 501.

-  I can create a folder for that student with their number and then share it with the parents as necessary.

So my questions included:

1)  For this to work would i have to scan each document separately anyway?

2)  Would the ocr and search functions be sophisticated enough to pick up the codes?

3)  Any other suggestions, concerns, etc?

Thanks so much in advance for any and all advice.

1) I am not sure what you mean by this. Ideally each scanned document would be its own note...

2) YES, if the writing is clear enough and the scan is of a sufficiently high quality (most modern scanners will provide more than adequate quality)

3) Suggestions: