syncing between two computers

I have Evernote on my desktop and laptop. On the desktop I have set up 9 notebooks to organize my business. But when I open it on the laptop or even view it online I don't see all 9 notebooks - only three of them. Any idea why this could be happening evern after performing syncing a number of times?

Are any of the notebooks on the desktop designated as "local" notebook? If so, they will not get synced to the server or any other device. 

Do you have any remaining upload quota? If you have hit your upload limit, any notes created while at the limit will not sync until your limit is refreshed at the end of your monthly cycle. 

Check the activity log on your desktop machine to see if there are any notes in their that might suggest trouble syncing those notebooks. 

Hi Scott

well, all of the notebooks are local ones.. Is that the issue?

I'm a tour operator and have 9 tours scheduled so I created one local notebook for each tour. And within each notebook I have a number of notes - things to do  relating to that particular tour. It's nice to be able to click on the title of any given local notebook and see everything I have written in it. How else could that be done if I'm not using local notebooks?

• Level 5*

Hi Scott

well, all of the notebooks are local ones.. Is that the issue?

Yes. Local notebooks are by definition not synced to the Evernote servers, so they are never synced to other devices.

The solution is not to use local notebooks if at all possible. Note that because they're not synced, they are not backed up up, so if you are going to use local notebooks, you should take the responsibility of backing them up yourself.

• Level 5*

It may take time for all of your notebooks (and their notes) to sync up up to the servers, and down to your other device. You could try to use the web client to see what's on the servers so far...