Questions from new user to Evernote and ScanSnap

I am new to both Evernote and Scansnap and trying to make sure I get started correctly as I prepare to scan all my documents into Evernote.  Goal for me, as many others, is to finally relieve my office of clutter which consists of piles of documents. 

I am using a Mac and SnapScan S1300i.

1.  I've read from different sources that I should turn off (uncheck) the option under ScanSnap to "Convert to Searchable PDF" since Evernote will do this automatically in the backend.  Some sources say I should have this option turned on.  Which is correct?

2.  I am assuming that for speed sake, I will be scanning in different documents at the same time in a single batch.  If I choose "Scan to Evernote (Documents)", it seems to create a single PDF containing all the different documents.  Scanning in the next batch creates another PDF with multiple documents.  Is this how Evernote/ScanSnap works?   I guess I was expecting to be able to go through a process separate documents once scanned in. Is this not the case?

Thank you.  Please let me know if I need to clarify my questions since I'm eager to get this started.

David

1) This depends. The difference is whether the PDF is an image of text, or if it is actual text. The difference is that actual text can be selected, highlighted, etc in a conventional PDF viewer. Its contents are also searchable in other applications. With image of text PDFs on the other hand, the text cannot be selected or highlighted. 

Both types of PDFs are searchable in Evernote (premium). The downside to "Convert to searchable PDF" is that it slows the process down considerably. Either way it is searchable in Evernote (premium). It may also be the case that another software package (e.g., Adobe Acrobat) may be better or more accurate at performing this task than the scansnap software.