(Archived) Complete It

I'm sure this is obvious but I can't seem to find it as I'm new to Evernote (windows and android).

Q: How do I mark a note as Complete (or Done, or something else to indicate it shouldn't be shown in the active display or searches) without deleting it? It's information I may need to come back to but want it well out of the way but still in the current notebook.

Q: Similarly, how do I mark a Notebook as Complete, so it too is hidden. Again, without losing the content by Deleting.

Cheers!

• Level 5

Mark a note as complete?

I agree you should not delete it.

You can tag the note with a tag named Complete or Done

or

You could add the To-Do checkbox and check it to indicate it is complete

or

You could move it to another Notebook named Archive

Mark a Notebook as complete?

Not a good idea. First, it can't be done.Second, you should be cautious about creating too many notebooks. Many new users create too many notebooks and eventually realize the power of limited numbers of notebooks.

• Level 5*

One way to hide it is to stick it into a stack, for example, one named "Complete" or "Archive" or something. For the record, the current limit of notebooks is a maximum of 250. That may change in the future, but there's no indication if or when.

• Level 5*

Two good answers guys, but you missed out the 'hidden' bit of the query. Evernote doesn't have an easy way to do that. Best work around would seem to be to move notes to a 'completed' notebook and then search. If there are too many hits, repeat the search excluding the completed notebook. You might ant to save these searches to avoid too much repitition. After a reasonable time the notebook itself could be exported to a backup and the notes deleted from the live database.