(Archived) Feature Request & Question

Viv Ilo Veith

Idea

The question is - is there a thread of feature requests and suggestions? I could not find a section of the forum specifically for that.

The feature request is:

Making it so we can password protect specific notebooks or/and notes.

This would just be an added layer of protection if a computer or device got stolen. It would make me feel more comfortable at least!

I use Mac and Android versions of Evernote and am a Premium user - in case it matters.

However, my hunch is that this feature would be appreciated by Premium users on all platforms.

6 replies to this idea

You can encrypt text within notes. Anything heftier than that is not supported. Please search on the word "security" for more info. It may not necessarily apply to Mac/Android, but EN's stance on this is pretty much across the board, regardless of OS.

Security such as password protection is very important. I'm not technical at all but I never store any important document on my macbook, but having EverNote installed on my macbook and iphone I'm afraid that someone would be able to access it if I lost my Macbook/iphone, a password option for opening the app i believe is a must for a general user like me, therefore i'm still hesitate to store important notes/documents on EverNote - making it much less useful...

I'm pretty sure that i will discontinue my premium account if i don't see this feature available in the near future...

• Level 5*

OK then, based on everything Evernote have said in public it looks like you will be going.

From a different thread but I think the reply applies here too.

Re: How to log out

by metrodon on Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:05 pm

Dropbox is often compared to Evernote for a bunch of reasons.

You can't log out of Dropbox on a Mac - you can unlink, which I'm guessing removes any data from your local machine.