(Archived) Evernote as GTD

Hi,

my name is Ali, i'm a medical doctor from germany doing a postdoc at the University San Diego California right now.

I've been using Evernote for 2 years now and since 1 year as a premium member.

Through Evernote i was able to organize my life much more efficient and plainly and i'd like to share some thoughts that might help you too.

Before Evernote, i used the Outlook tasks with the due options to sort my errands. I also tried a lot of different GTD (get things done) software but i ended up not using them as the outlook tasks together with the calendar were plain but efficient.

After i started using evernote for fun snapping websites here and there and taking screenshots i realized that it was a good addition so i used evernote as a parallel application for my things to remember and GTD. However, having two systems was kinda redundant but evernote had no real alternative for a task managment system. I also tried programs aNote and ecretlist but they didn't really ease my taks neither. Also, i stopped capturing every website i found interesting with evernote because i would have a lot of notes in my notebooks without any good organization and it would mess up my notebooks (although i had several for different topics).

So i started searching and found different user blogs and how they use evernote as a GTD. From all of those, i liked examinehealth.com (http://examinehealth.com/personal-produ ... rnote.html) best. But it was too complicated, you would still have to look through one note for one task. It made no sense, i wanted a list to quickly look through and yet have notes to go deeper when needed to. So this is what i am doing right now and it works great:

I have 2 to-do-list notes in evernote. One for work, one for everything else called TODO GTD and TODO GTD WORK. They look something like that

today:

-

-

-

-

groceries/to buy

-

-

-

contact/email to:

-

-

-

this week

-

-

-

this month

-

-

-

-