Document scanning VERY slow and CRASHES after 10 pages, no re-shooting unsharp images in a sequence

Hi,

I'm new to Evernote, just bought the premium version last week and started scanning the stacks of documents that had accumulated in a year or so. App version is 7.9.6. I'm on a recent Android phone, the Moto G 4 plus, that has a supposedly fantastic camera with laser focus etc.. I'm a hobby photographer and know how to use a camera. I use the brightest spot in the house with indirect sunlight and place the documents on a dark towel. Documents are typically black text on white, Spanish language, flat paper - completely normal stuff I'd say.

As long as scanning is working the app paints a green frame around the document, then overlays the document with a green shade within that frame, then shows the Android equivalent of a "waiting" cursor while saying "capturing" for 2-10 seconds (!!!), then makes a shutter sound and a little icon appears on the bottom of the screen that previews the shot. The camera is not automatically identifying the next sheet while the last shot is being processed, but I can press on the screen to take a shot manually. Waiting for the app to process the image is unbelievably slow and I really can't see a reason why the camera needs to wait for the processing before continuing to shoot. 

So I've continued (manually triggering the camera) and after 2-3 shots the camera shuts down and an empty note shows up. I'd day that's a crash! The first time this happened some of the pictures did eventually show up, but you can't tell that directly after it happens. Combined with it taking close to 10 minutes to scan 10 pages this is very frustrating.