(Archived) Mac beta - PDFs?

Thank you for the invitation.

I'm using the Mac beta and tried to drag in a PDF of some of my research, but the only thing that showed up in the notebook was the full filename. Since I'm new to Evernote, I'm assuming I'm missing something. How do I bring PDFs into Evernote for the Mac?

Any help is appreciated.

I haven't tried on the Mac yet, but if it's like the previous windows builds... you can't. As you noticed, you get a file link, not the package itself. That said, if you need to get info out of the PDF, you could:

1. Select all, copy and then paste the info into Evernote. This will only work for certain types of PDF's however.

2. Show the full page of the PDF in PREVIEW, then use the EN clipper to clip the page into EN as an image.

David

Thanks for the reply, David.

Unfortunately, I was/am looking at Evernote to deal with my GBs worth of research, many of which are PDFs - some OCR'd, some not - so the page-by-page solution would be impractical.

Is the lack of PDF support new to version 3?

Is the new version primarily aimed at gathering info-bits from the web?

I'm starting to wonder if I'm the target audience for this app. Still, I need to investigate it more before I make any decision.

EN has never been a file management tool. You could drag a pdf to EN and get a link back to that file, but there would be no copy made of the pdf, nor would the data in the pdf be brought into EN. On the other hand, if you drag a txt file, you can get the contents of the file.

Elsewhere on the forum there are discussions about using EN with pdfs, i.e., to get the recognition working. But it's not really a great marriage. The best anyone has ever come up with is to either (a) take a snapshot of each pdf page and put that into EN, or (:( grab all the text of the pdf and bring that in. Neither are very useful.