Unwanted list columns

Hi, I am new to Evernote and am considering upgrading. I have tried to copy some of my work from Apple Notes into Evernote and it has worked well except for this issue. My text in Apple

notes flows down the page like what html coding looks like, which means it is indented at various levels due to a nesting structure. The good thing here is that Evernote works like Apple notes by retaining the textual formatting, illustrations and links, without removing these and simplifying and aligning all text to the left as a lot of other applications unfortunately do, including Word, OneNote, etc. But I have noticed however that Evernote forces some of the listed items in my work into columns of two of three, where I would prefer it to remain in one single column. Why does this happen and how could it be prevented from happening? Thank you for any advice.

• Level 5*

Hi.  A standard note is always a single column unless some additional external formatting affects the layout.  Unfortunately there have been plenty of comments that Evernote tends to change the content of coding if it's saved direct - indents and spacings being changed forinstance.  The usual workaround is to save your work in a compliant notepad of choice and attach the document file to a note.  Not sure what's happening here - can you share any screenshots to help us comment?

• Level 5*

But I have noticed however that Evernote forces some of the listed items in my work into columns of two of three, where I would prefer it to remain in one single column. Why does this happen and how could it be prevented from happening? Thank you for any advice.

The most likely reason the Note Contents would appear in multiple columns is HTML formatting in the source text that was copied/clipped.

You can try Format > Simplify Formatting in the Note.  This often will remove strange, undesired formatting.