OCR not working

Richard3

I am premium member who primarily uses the Evernote desktop application on Windows 7. I have been using Evernote for over 2 years now and I have never been able to search for text in images. I am also unable to search for text in images in Evernote web (neither Chrome, nor Firefox), nor on Evernote mobile (Galaxy S4). I have done much searching online and as far as I'm aware, this feature ought to function by default.

Is something wrong or is there a setting I need to change?

• Level 5*

Hi.  First my unhelpful comment:  if you do your own OCR,  you never have to worry about whether your document is the right size,  resolution or type to get 'automatically' OCR'd.  Now that's out of the way - what file type are you saving - JPG / PNG / PDF?  And at what size and DPI resolution?

Perhaps I don't understand what OCR is. I though it was the technology that can read text from images as that is the feature I am hoping to have.

Pretty much all my images are JPGs at 72 DPI since virtually all of them are from the web. I also have a few PDFs. The various resolutions range anywhere from 100 pixels to 2,000-ish.

• Level 5*

Actually I was being more unhelpful than I knew at the time - my Adobe software doesn't OCR pictures most of the time*.  I pre-OCR PDF files mainly because I then know it's done!

There's an Evernote blog article about image OCR which may help you - the quick summary is that OCR will only process bitmaps (BMP images) in PDF files,  and that the sharper the image the better...

https://blog.evernote.com/tech/2013/07/18/how-evernotes-image-recognition-works/

* Edit - my PDFs are mainly text.

Edit Edit:  And I'm a cup of coffee short of coherence yet - images have to be synced a couple of times to be OCR'd - these previous threads may help!

https://discussion.evernote.com/topic/24070-imported-jpeg-files-not-ocrd/

https://discussion.evernote.com/topic/65249-search-issue-issue-w-ocr-jpegs-worked-1st-day/