Using Evernote Offline

I am new to using Evernote - I have downloaded the program to my computer. 

Currently when I open the program it is asking for user name and password - once i enter that info I am getting a message not able to connect try again later - but I AM online so not sure why it cannot connect....

My main question - I live in a rural area with limited internet access.  Can Evernote be used offline?  and if so how do I open the program for use offline.

Thank you for your help.

Hi Kathy,

All of the notes you see on your Evernote desktop app are there to view and edit offline. If you're not connected to the internet at any given time... not a problem... when your connection is re-established your notes will sync to the Evernote servers for "safekeeping" and to be available to sync to other mobile device clients. 

On the other hand, if you do not have internet access and you don't have a Premium account, unfortunately, you will not be able to view your notes on mobile devices.

If the program, as you say, is giving you a message that it is not able to connect, then most of the time it is because your internet connection is down. At the moment are you able to surf the internet?

Edit: Duh! What a question! I see you online as I write  :P

I don't need to be able to connect to mobile devices right now - I'm frustrated at not being able to just open the program - I just keep getting that same message - can't connect to server, BUT when I click "help" online help - it jumps to open a new tab and there I am on a help screen....

Can't I just "open" the Evernote like Word or my genealogy program and then start making notes.  Without a concern if I'm online or off?   Right now it won't open - when I click to open it I get the sign in screen.   :(((((

for Windows - When I went on the Evernote.com site the download is right there.