Using Evernote for Private Music Lessons

Blake Burch

For the past two years, I've been running a business of teaching private lessons to aspiring young percussionists in the school district that I graduated from. It's an enriching experience to give back to students that are in the same position that I was only a few years ago and it's just one more way to keep music running through my veins.

To me, teaching (at it's initial stages) is simply a form of emulation with a dash of experimentation. When you're uncomfortable or unsure about what to do, you pull from your past experiences, all the while looking for new ways to approach issues. When I began teaching lessons, I taught each lesson in a fashion that was extremely resemblant of how my lessons were taught to me, but I started noticing a recurring trend. During each lesson, I would write comments and assignments in a student's notebook and send them on their merry way. Next week's lessons would result in one the following outcomes:

1. The student would bring their notebook.
  2. The student would forget to bring their notebook.

Two options. A 50% chance of a positive outcome. However, this chance, when mixed and matched on a weekly basis started to lead to a lot of disorganization.

1. The student would bring their notebook.

1. I could reference things we covered the previous week.
    2. The next note in the notebook would be in chronological order.
    3. The student would forget to bring their notebook.
      1. I would have a vague idea about what I told the student the previous week but ultimately have to guess.
      2. The next note was written on a loose leaf sheet of paper.
      3. The next note in the notebook would not be in chronological order.