(Archived) Data backups

I am new to the Evernote Beta. I am finding the tool very useful, so much so that I am starting to put information into Evernote that I am not putting elsewhere. So, knowing this is a Beta, I am a bit concerned that I should start backing up my database locally, just in case there is a bug or something that deletes a notebook or 3... I am already using the Windows client, which I know keeps a local database. Does anyone have directions for backing up that database?

Thanks!

For now, you can select notes and then right-click to Export those to HTML. We also plan to add support for a more complete XML export format in both the Windows and Mac clients.

The service itself has an extremely high level of redundancy for all of your data. Believe it or not, each piece of your information is stored on at least 5 different hard drives across three different computers. So we believe we provide a fairly high level of protection for typical data loss scenarios.

Thanks

Evernote 2.2 had a feature for regular automated local backups as well as the local synchronization option, neither of which were implemented in 3.0. So, worrying whether your web based backups (there were none) was not the issue we have today. It ensures the local recoverability of your data, independent of the web service. Sounds like perhaps they have something like this coming. I would urge at least a reimplementation of 2.2 style local backups.

(I also argue for USB based local synchronization in 3.0 elsewhere in this forum, which I think would address this and other concerns.)

For now, you can select notes and then right-click to Export those to HTML. We also plan to add support for a more complete XML export format in both the Windows and Mac clients.